zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

General discussion on Zend Studio
Post Reply
jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:00 am

I can break in the index.php and in another file. If I put a breakpoint in my controller it doesn't hit it. I put die('test'); in my controller and it died with 'test'.
Any ideas?

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:45 am

This has me dead in the water. I filled this support ticket.

ZendDebugger is not breaking inside my controller.
If I set break on first line, it breaks fine and I can set break points in the index file and in another file that executes right after the index file and they all break. I've seen a previous issue from my scouring the web that says that this issue existed in Zend Studio 7 and that a bug was filed and it was resolved.

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:48 am

Even xdebug isn't working. This has to be zend studio.

totalsupport
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:38 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by totalsupport » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:04 pm

You did put the die('test'); at the *exact* same location as the breakpoint? (Just checking.. ;))
Is your controller part of the same project? I.e. physicaly located next to the index.php?

Irratic and strange debugger behaviour is also often caused by incorrect pathmappings. Check Preferences -> PHP -> PHP Servers, open each applicable server (and remove old/unused ones) and check the "Path mapping" tab for incorrect values.

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:32 pm

I changed it to a printf statement and broke right on it. Before I was also breaking right on it I just wanted to bugger my code to make sure it was responding to the latest version.
The problem is almost certainly path mapping. Here's some information I sent Zend support

...
zend kb entry: 421

I have set debug local copy.
I have vagrant running vbox ubuntu precise64.
I have a network mount from my host at c:\users\james to /vagrant on my guest
/vagrant/www/te/te is my project root and /vagrant/www/te/te/public is my vhost's document root
I have php 5.3 and apache 2.2.22
I installed Zend server and the debugger is communicating with Zend Studio. I can set break points inside index.php and several other files and they are obeyed. The problem I have is in my controller which makes me think that the framework is doing some funky routing that Zend Debugger can't keep up with.
http://te/search?debug_host=192.168.33. ... on_id=1059
I have the following path mapping set in the server's configuration. Path on server: /vagrant/www/te/te Local Path: I've tried to my project root te/ but right now I have it absolutely mapped to c:\Users\james\www\te\te.
I also set my library path for zend to the copy inside my project and set the following mapping: Path on server: /vagrant/www/te/te/vendor/zendframework/zendframework/library to Local path C:\Users\james\www\te\te\vendor\zendframework\zendframework\library

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:39 pm

This is probably an issue with how I'm mapping the library. The library on my server is /usr/local/zend/share/ZendFramework/library
This post talks about how the library mapping can be an issue:
forums topic: 8356

The Zend studio points to C:\Users\james\Zend\workspaces\DefaultWorkspace\.metadata\.plugins\org.zend.php.framework and it cannot be changed. I have tried adding an external folder and pointing it to my local project copy but it does not show up as a Zend Framework 2 item and I don't know if that's going to be a problem later but it sounds like it. It still doesn't work though. I've even explicitly mapped the local copy to /usr/local/zend/share/ZendFramework/library on the server.

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:49 pm

On second thought it is getting into the zend library... and breaking on preset points ... but it's also breaking in index.php. Not just break at first line.

jami6779
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: zenddebugger not breaking inside my controller

Post by jami6779 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:29 am

The id me won't allow me to set breakpoints in the library. It's also opening library files local to project and not the Zend Studio ones. I'm convinced this is a library path mapping issue.

Post Reply