Confusion on workspace(s) versus filesystem-Zend Eclipse PHP

General discussion on Zend Studio
john8459

Confusion on workspace(s) versus filesystem-Zend Eclipse PHP

Post by john8459 » Tue Jul 01, 2014 12:47 am

As a relative newbie, I'm having difficulty understanding the relationship between workspaces and the filesystem. I am using Eclipse for PHP developers 3.2 and Zend's version of Apache. If this is not the appropriate forum, please direct me to the right place. Thanks.

I seem to have gotten some wires crossed somewhere along the way.
When I initially configured my installation, I thought I had set my default workspace to Apache's htdocs folder. I have several folders configured within that folder. Most of them are my own work, but I have at least one folder containing the website for a friend. I copy this website to her hosting service when I make updates. I need to make certain that I do not lose that folder.

The problem is that it does not show up in what I thought was my "default" (i.e.htdocs) workspace in the resource view. Rather, it shows up in the Eclipse default workspace (C:\Eclipse_PHP\zend-eclipse-php\ . Nonetheless, the files still exist in htdocs. At the same time, my htdocs workspace shows nothing in the resource view.

Meanwhile, I attempted to insert a dummy project in the htdocs workspace and was unable to do so. When I tried to do that in the Eclipse workspace, all the other projects became children of the top-level project.

I'm afraid I find this all very confusing. I really want htdocs to be my primary or default workspace. When I am working on a project and I make changes, I do not want to have to move the changes from zend-eclipse-php to htdocs in order to test them.

Any assistance anyone can provide would be most appreciated. Thanks.

natalia_b_zend

Re: Confusion on workspace(s) versus filesystem-Zend Eclipse

Post by natalia_b_zend » Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:42 pm