Page 1 of 1

Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:48 am
by jør337
Hello,

After the last update from windows Zend Studio has started to behave strange. If I leave the windows open for some time and work with something else, it is not possible to return to Zend. Clicking on the Zend window cause another active application to get focus. The only way to make Zend Studio work again, is to kill it through the Task Manager and start it again.

Anyone else seen this?

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:07 am
by mike3514
Me too. It is actually freezing solid. Cannot move the window, cannot access even the close "X" or anything. It basically is or looks like, an open image that has no interaction what-so-ever.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Zend several times and it just does the same thing over and over again. I am clearing anything that contains the word "Zend" in it from my hard drive to see if I can then reinstall a "clean" install and hope it works, but, this is an issue and one that should be addressed soon. I have to use other IDE's because Zend simply freezes on start-up.

The version of Windows 10 I am running is Build 17046.rs_prerelease.171118-1403. (I am a beta windows 10 tester)

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:27 am
by jør337
Seem to happen every time the screen saver activates.

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:47 am
by jør337
I believe that the problem lays in windows (but I'm not sure). The latest version of Firefox also seem to have some problem after the screen saver has been running for some time.

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:54 am
by mike3514
I use no screensaver at all. Basically I click on the icon to run it, everything opens up, it tries to find a zend server (which I do not use) and then it freezes as soon as that notification informing me that it could not find a zend server. Never had this problem prior. The version of Windows I am using is: evaluation build 17046rs_rerelease.

Everything was fine until about a week ago and it started this freezing behavior.

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:51 pm
by jør337
It's very annoying - but I'm not sure who to blame - zend or windows (I prefer the to blame windows).
My windows version is

Windows 10 Home
Version 1709
OS Build 16299.64

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:07 pm
by jør337
BTW, have some of the other that are facing this problem tried to contact Zend support?
I have tried in this and in other cases but I do not get any reply from them at all. Seems to me that the messages to them have passed too close to a black hole...

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:41 am
by mike3514
You have to directly contact Rougewave, open up a support ticket and go through the process of troubleshooting. Thus far, and almost a full week of back and forth, Zend is still froze solid.

I have done full uninstalls, registry clean, re-install and tried both 64 and 32 bit versions of 13.6. with no luck. I have used all of the suggestions given by Roguewave as well, complete with JDK dump with no avail. It acts like a window draw issue or the load up of the Zend server discovery plugin which I do not use.

Bottom line, over two weeks of frustration and still a frozen product, I have had a chance to use and experience the competition IDE's without issue and a couple of those are far superior products to Zend and the buggy eclipse platform it rides on.

Re: Zend Studion 13.6 and windows 10

Posted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:27 pm
by mike3514
Just an update, no solution has been officially discovered as of yet for this issue. If others are having this problem, I would encourage you to sign up for the forums and post so that more attention can be paid to this issue.