64 bit windows studio?

General discussion on Zend Studio
Post Reply
iceheartx
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:24 pm

64 bit windows studio?

Post by iceheartx » Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:57 pm

yes I'm using windows vista on my desktop, whether I like it or not.

that said, I see there's a 64 bit linux version of studio, will there be a windows as well?
i0.

User avatar
ganoro
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:00 pm

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by ganoro » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:55 am

Hi,
As for today (10/09/09) Zend doesn't publishes a separate windows 64bit edition as the 32bit edition is fully compatible with it.
If you want to install a 64bit environment, follow these steps:
1. install a 64bit JRE Java >= 1.5 version.
2. Install Windows (x86_64) (162 MB) - eclipse-SDK-3.5-win32-x86_64.zip from http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/dow ... x86_64.zip
3. Install Zend Studio as a plugin http://www.zend.com/topics/Zend-Studio- ... s-v700.pdf

Enjoy ;)
Roy

alex9978
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:04 am

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by alex9978 » Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:10 am

Hi

I tried to install the plugin on a 64bit Eclipse (Win7), but doesn't work.
I followed the latest help guide:
files.zend. com/help/Zend-Studio/content/installing_zend_studio_as_a_plugin.htm

And as you can read here:
Zend Studio installation as a plugin on a Windows 64-bit or Mac 64-bit Operating System, is only possible on a 32-bit version of Eclipse.

Question to me is: why? I am using Eclipse and tuned the Java VM to benefit from 8GB of RAM, and its great! So pls make the plugin running on x64 as well!

Alex

User avatar
kaloyan_r
Zend Product Manager
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:40 pm

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by kaloyan_r » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:10 am

alex9978, thanks for the feedback.

In the past our performance measurement showed that 64-bit build of Zend Studio on Windows is significantly (up to twice) slower than the 32-bit build.
We will have a look at this again and will consider providing 64-bit version for Windows.
Kaloyan Raev
Zend Studio Team

neuner
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by neuner » Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:41 pm

Hi,
as I VERY OFTEN get HEAP MEMORY Errors on Zend Studio 12 (XMX/XMS maxed our for 32 Bit) - it would be great to have 64 Bit Zend Studio ...
Or are there other possibilities to give Zend Studio more than 2GB of RAM?
Andreas Schnederle-Wagner

User avatar
kaloyan_r
Zend Product Manager
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:40 pm

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by kaloyan_r » Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:23 am

We are going to ship 64-bit Windows package of Zend Studio with the 12.0.1 maintenance release (Dec 15). It will be unofficial Early Access package. If we get positive feedback we will start officially supporting it with the next feature release (Spring 2015).

EDIT: Use the download link posted here: http://forums.zend.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=122853

Feedback appreciated :-)
Kaloyan Raev
Zend Studio Team

tedtiger
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by tedtiger » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:40 am

Version is running smoothly. Except for one thing. I encounter sometime the copy and past hanging bug. I'll try to make a memory dump.

tedtiger
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by tedtiger » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:49 am

I've made some memory dumps:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ktbx43bvfgi0q ... 4.zip?dl=0

first one is right after the start
second dump is during during event
thrid dump is right after studio was responsing again
I've included the support file, too.

User avatar
kaloyan_r
Zend Product Manager
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:40 pm

Re: 64 bit windows studio?

Post by kaloyan_r » Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:56 pm

I see you opened new topic for this: http://forums.zend.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=122848
Let's continue discussing the issue there.
Kaloyan Raev
Zend Studio Team

Post Reply