Cannot authenticate with git repo on assembla

General discussion on Zend Studio
Post Reply
enormoustrousers
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 2:59 pm

Cannot authenticate with git repo on assembla

Post by enormoustrousers » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:01 am

I work for a company whose git repo is hosted with assembla.com. I want to use ZS9 to work with the project but I'm finding authentication impossible. Assembla requires a repo URI beginning with "git@", which causes ZS9 to demand that the username be set to "git". I found that if I enter the information in just the right order, I can successfully clone a repo using my real username (shown here as "someguy"):

Image

Once the repo is cloned, however, I cannot communicate with the remote again. Any time I try to push, pull, etc., I am prompted to log into the repo with the following dialog box:

Image

The username is greyed out so I am unable to change it.

I am still in my 30-day trial period, and I want to buy ZS9, but if it won't work with git on Assembla, I'll be forced to use something else. Any help at all is greatly appreciated.

User avatar
ganoro
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:00 pm

Re: Cannot authenticate with git repo on assembla

Post by ganoro » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:04 am

Maybe it's related to the known issue that Zend Studeio doesn't get private ssh key?
Read this post and let us know if it's the issue
http://lenss.nl/2012/02/using-ssh-key-a ... endstudio/

Thanks for sharing,

enormoustrousers
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: Cannot authenticate with git repo on assembla

Post by enormoustrousers » Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:24 pm

Sadly, no, that didn't solve the problem. The issue is that ZS doesn't allow me to change the user name on login -- it enforces "git" as the user name with no option of being overridden. I can successfully perform a clone because that dialog box (as pictured) allows me to specify the username, an option that does not exist when I attempt to push or pull.

Post Reply