ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

General discussion on Zend Studio
mb
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:25 am

ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by mb » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:28 am

After a few minutes, ZendStudio starts to use 100% of one cpu core indefinitely.

I'm able to reproduce this with:
ZendStudio 9.0.2 (release)
ZendStudio 9.0.2 (latest beta as of today)

Java 1.6 Update 31
Java 1.7 Update 3
Windows 7 SP1, 64-bit

I was attaching the Visual Studio 2010 debugger but couldn't really see anything useful.

Please let me know what other information you need.

P.S. I have also opened a ticket but never received a reply.

ngispa
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:08 am

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by ngispa » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:12 am

I'm having the same issue on mac, since I've updated to 9.0.2.

radhad
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by radhad » Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:47 pm

I have seen this al ot on a beta version released after 14 Feb which makes Zend Studio unusable.

User avatar
sylvie6713
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by sylvie6713 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:54 am

Hi
We are investigating it and trying to get resolution shortly.
Thanks for posting.

Regards
Sylvia Tancheva
QA Team, Zend

User avatar
sylvie6713
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by sylvie6713 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:46 pm

Hi
For performance issue with v9.0.2 a patch was prepared. Please check if this solves your issue:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/47740218/ZendSt ... Repository

Instructions: Regards
Sylvia Tancheva
QA Team, Zend

ngispa
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:08 am

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by ngispa » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:07 pm

This patch does not solve the issue for me.

mr_camouflage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:50 am

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by mr_camouflage » Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:19 am

This patch does not solve the problem for me either (Problems seemed to start when Apple pushed out the latest Java update).

Build ID: 20120224
OS X 10.7.3 (2GHz Core i7)
java version "1.6.0_31"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b04-415-11M3635)

While using Zend Studio it uses around 400% CPU. My MacBook Pro Fan which is normally silent, now it varies between audible and jet engine. Studio randomly pauses with the spinning beachball of death.

After a day of trying various fixes suggested in this forum, I have no choice but to revert back to Zend Studio 8 which uses 1.2 percent CPU when idle compared to zend studio 9 which uses 102% cpu when idle.

Luckily I took a backup of 8 before upgrading to 9.

I hope this issue is resolved soon.

mr_camouflage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:50 am

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by mr_camouflage » Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:39 am

Update: I've managed to go back to version 9.0.1.201112141951-D97....etc
Build ID: 20111214

Which seems to be ok.

Wont be updating to a newer version any time soon. At least I can get back to doing the job I'm employed to do.

User avatar
natalia_b_zend
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by natalia_b_zend » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:02 am

Hello mr_camouflage,

If you could run your 9.0.2 version of Studio once more and perform following steps it would really help us investigate your issue:

Start your Zend Studio with a "-console" parameter.
This will bring console together with Studio’s user interface. Once Studio hangs/hits 100% CPU usage, give explicit focus to the console window and press ⌘ . (Command and "fullstop"). This will generate java dump into console (you may need to increase your console buffer size in advance). Please save console output to a file. Wait one minute and repeat this operation. Send us the results.

Thank you in advance
Natalia Bartol
Zend Studio Team

mr_camouflage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:50 am

Re: ZendStudio.exe using 100% of CPU resources

Post by mr_camouflage » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:53 am

added -console to ZendStudio.ini

clicked in the console window to give it focus

pressed ⌘ .

nothing happened.

Post Reply