Building Enterprise Apps

General discussion on PHP
farouqzaib

Building Enterprise Apps

Post by farouqzaib » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:47 am

Hello guys, I am a junior PHP developer waiting for the big transition to "intermediate developer" and I was thinking of writing an enterprise application. I checked source codes from some big time apps like wordpress and sugarCRM and I couldn't understand say half of them. I would really appreciate if anybody could give me a heads up on desgin guidelines and how to structure codes and stuffs like that. I am currently studying, not reading "PHP Objects, Patterns and Practice". Thanks guys.

paulfreeman

Re: Building Enterprise Apps

Post by paulfreeman » Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:03 am

With applications like Wordpress, SugarCRM and other open source projects one of the first places to look is how to write plugins for them - That'll introduce you to a new way of working, allow you to leverage existing systems more easily, and looks nice on the CV without having to write a whole new system.

Enterprise Application is a bit of a buzz word and doesn't really mean anything (Technically, any company with more then 500 employees is Enterprise level, but nothing magically happens) and you'd probably be better working on smaller, specific projects you can complete and demonstrate your skills with in isolation. - If you've written the new SugarCRM it's very hard in an interview to fully get across all the features, and the work you've put in. (And you might get bored half way in) So personally I think it's better to pick up something smaller that can use a couple of the areas you want to explore, then finish that and move on to the next thing.