Database error: Cannot select database 'platform'

General discussion on Zend Platform for IBM System i

Database error: Cannot select database 'platform'

Postby jsupe on Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:24 pm

Anyone have an issue on this and was able to resolved? Please post your solution. Many thanks.
jsupe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm

Re: Database error: Cannot select database 'platform'

Postby jsupe on Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:09 pm

Solution from ZEND by Rod Flohr

This error usually indicates that the platform database was not successfully created during installation. This can happen because of a timing issue that can occur on slower servers. It may also happen for some other reason. Please try the following procedure, which will create the platform database, or provide an error that can be further analyzed by Zend Support.

From the command line:

CALL QP2TERM

This will bring up the PASE shell command entry screen. Enter this command:

/usr/local/Zend/MySQL/bin/mysql.sh start

It is likely that the MySQL server is already started, in which case you will see this message:

MySQL is already running

That is OK. If MySQL had not already been running, it will be now. Next, enter this command:

echo "create database platform;" | /usr/local/Zend/MySQL/bin/mysql --socket /usr/local/Zend/MySQL/var/mysql.sock

This command should give you a message stating the Platform database was created (or it may just complete with no message), or will give an error message that you can send to Zend Support for further analysis. If the Platform database is created, run this command:

/bin/cat /usr/local/Zend/Platform/etc/DB_Schema.mysql | /usr/local/Zend/MySQL/bin/mysql --socket /usr/local/Zend/MySQL/var/mysql.sock platform

If this command runs successfully, there will be no message.
jsupe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:22 pm


Return to Zend Platform for i5/OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest