Building a Rating System with Zend

For programming and general questions on Zend Framework
jopojo

Building a Rating System with Zend

Post by jopojo » Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:25 pm

I am a newbie to Zend and understand the basics, but I cannot get my head around creating a rating system for specific items in a database. I am not looking for code, just an MVC overview on implementing it. Any pointers/help is appreciated.

suggsjc

Re: Building a Rating System with Zend

Post by suggsjc » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:17 pm

Can you give a little more detail on what you are looking for? Are you talking about how you would want to route the requests? Or are you wanting advice on things like directory structure what the models would look like, etc.

jopojo

Post by jopojo » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:51 pm

My bad. I am not sure how to design a form and capture the results for a star rating system. So, if a user can vote (by selecting a star) on a book, how would that be rendered and then captured?

suggsjc

Post by suggsjc » Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:52 pm

Ok, well I'll just make some assumptions and then you can fill in the gaps with more specific questions. Also, this is by no means exhaustive or even syntax checked, its just some ideas to think about.

First, we'll say that we create a route to handle the votes

$route = new Zend_Controller_Router_Route(
'item/:item_id/vote',
array(
'controller' => 'items',
'action' => 'vote'
)
);

$router->addRoute('vote', $route);

So now, when you submit to a link that matches that pattern it will be routed to the Items controller and the vote action.

You can either create the form manually or use Zend_Form. Zend_Form is a little quirky and somewhat intimidating when you first start out, but once you master it, it is very powerful and you'll be thankful for learning how to use it. That said, I'm just going to show you the example html for demonstration purposes.