Having trouble getting started...

General discussion on Zend Server for IBM System i
Post Reply
bradders15
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:25 am

Having trouble getting started...

Post by bradders15 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:44 am

I'm currently trying to view the demo 5250 bridge programs that come with the Zend Server install.

I've installed the latest version (5.6.0) and can get to the admin homepage at http://********:10088/ZendServer

I can get to the login page when I click on one of the subfile demo apps, but after hitting login, I get an Internal Server Error. The error log shows:

PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined method ToolkitService::getLastDBError() in /usr/local/zendsvr/5250/API/Zend/5250/I5Wrapper.php on line 223

I've tried all steps in related posts on this forum but to no avail. Any further avenues of investigation would be most welcome. TIA.

aseiden
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:45 pm

Re: Having trouble getting started...

Post by aseiden » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:39 am

A couple of things:

Have you set the CCSID in your Apache file?
After installing Zend Server 5.6.0, did you install the latest toolkit PTF, ("12-07" as of this writing) or latest toolkit from YiPs site?

If the above are true, try creating debug.log by setting debug=true in /usr/local/zendsvr/share/toolkitapi/toolkit.ini, then running the bridge again, and reviewing the resulting debug.log file.

--Alan

joe8123
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:43 pm

Re: Having trouble getting started...

Post by joe8123 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:46 pm

Did we find a fix for this issue? I have the same problem.

aseiden
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:45 pm

Re: Having trouble getting started...

Post by aseiden » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:17 pm

You're unable to see the root cause of the issue because of an outdated error handler in the 5250 Bridge.

Go to line 223 of this script:
/usr/local/zendsvr/5250/API/Zend/5250/I5Wrapper.php

Change it from:

Code: Select all

return $this->i5_resource->getLastDBError(); //"errormessage";
to:

Code: Select all

return $this->i5_resource->getErrorCode() . ' ' . $this->i5_resource->getErrorMsg();
And please follow earlier advice about updating your copy of the toolkit, and, if necessary, creating a debug log.

I can't guarantee that it will reveal the root cause, but you'll have a better chance now.

-- Alan Seiden

Post Reply