libssh2 and ssh2

General discussion forum for the Zend Server
lionelviot

libssh2 and ssh2

Post by lionelviot » Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:13 pm

Hello,
I wish to add those libraries (libssh2 & ssh2) to zend studio and server on a Mac os X. I need to create a ssh connection to my database server (via port forwarding created in ssh_conf).
I have downloaded the .tar files and followed this tutorial : http://naeh.net/installer-libssh2-ssh2-pour-php/
I'm not an expert in adding a library on an unix system and this tutorial didn't help me.
I'm stuck at the very beginning... Any kind of help will be welcome.

Thanks

shahar

Re: libssh2 and ssh2

Post by shahar » Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:03 am

Hi,

First you will need XCode installed - make sure you have it and if not get it from the Apple web site.

To install libssh (and most other open source libraries) on Mac I would recommend using MacPorts. This is out of scope for this forum but I think it's an easier way, as MacPort takes care of installing all the necessary tools and dependencies for each library you want to build.

Another way is to do it yourself - make sure you build the library and all it's dependencies.

Then, you can build the ssh2 extension using the 'pecl' tool bundled with Zend Server - assuming you have the necessary tools and libraries installed this would simply be a matter of running

Code: Select all

sudo /usr/local/zend/bin/pecl install ssh2
and enabling the extension from the Zend Server GUI.

If you get stuck at any point, please provide more information - e.g. what stage did you get stuck in and what error message you got.

Shahar.
Shahar Evron <shahar.e@zend.com>
Product Manager, Zend Technologies

lionelviot

Post by lionelviot » Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:38 pm

Hello,
thanks for your answer, i'm very happy to find an helpfull hand.
I have followed your explanation but i had already done some things.
Xcode is installed.