AS/400 Database Table Edit Decimal / Packed Error

General discussion on Zend Studio for IBM System i
Post Reply
nmajithia
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:23 pm

AS/400 Database Table Edit Decimal / Packed Error

Post by nmajithia » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:53 pm

Hi,
I have recently discovered the ability to connect to an as/400 / iseries database through Zend studios database perspective and have managed to connect to our database, view the tables and run queries on them,

However when I try to edit the tables, the "decimal" fields show up as <error>. When I try to extract the data to a file (csv), I get a warning saying that some columns could not be extracted. Its the decimal (packed) columns.

Does anyone know how this could work? As it would be very useful to extract and import data from csv, or make minor table changes.

Thanks for any help.

Neil

nmajithia
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: AS/400 Database Table Edit Decimal / Packed Error

Post by nmajithia » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:14 pm

Just to let people know, i have a support ticket raised for this and it is now a known bug,
Hopefully there will be a solution soon!

scottgcampbell
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Re: AS/400 Database Table Edit Decimal / Packed Error

Post by scottgcampbell » Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:42 am

For extracting and updating (though I haven't used this feature) I think you'll find that F.R.O.G. will do what you need. I've been using it for over a year and it has helped me lots of times.

Scott

http://www.innovativesys.net/?page_id=4

Post Reply