Studio 8 debug

General discussion on Zend Studio for IBM System i
Post Reply
dave_mackay
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:57 pm

Studio 8 debug

Post by dave_mackay » Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:59 pm

Hi all

Does anyone have a links/guides to perform/setup debugging of PHP scrips on the IBM i from Studio 8?

Many thanks
Dave

yiyujia
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by yiyujia » Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:45 pm

I am looking for such info too.

Here is a link that might be helpful. http://kb.zend.com/index.php?View=entry&EntryID=421 I feels the Path Mapping plays important role here. I want to save my time for doing something else. The user manual of Zend studio is not well checked. Some URL links in the PDF file show me 404 error!

I am looking for a clear tutorial about how to setup Zend Studio 8.0 with Zend Server on IBM i for remote debug and profiling.

Looking forward to helps from Zend Studio team.

Thanks and regards,

Yiyu Jia

starbuck5250
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:10 pm

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by starbuck5250 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:17 pm

yiyujia wrote: I feels the Path Mapping plays important role here. Yiyu Jia
I had no luck using the Studio Run/Debug menus/icons. First, get to the first HTML page in your application. Then use the Firefox toolbar that Zend Studio installs, click the icon to the right of the Debug icon. Select 'Debug all pages'. Fill in the form and when the PHP action fires, the debugger does too.

The path mapping is important if you want to debug the local PHP file; the one in Studio. Without a Run/Debug configuration (and path mapping) the debugger will debug the source from the server. There are check boxes in the run/debug configuration and also the toolbar to use local or remote, but without the path mapping, the debugger cannot tell what local file maps to the one being served out of the server.

I'm new at this. Still learning. Hope this helps.
--buck

yiyujia
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by yiyujia » Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:21 pm

see this link from Zend Studio board. It might be helpful. I go back to use studio 7.2.1 now.

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=962

Yiyu Jia

formaserve
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:11 am

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by formaserve » Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm

This would be very useful Zend

>> I am looking for a clear tutorial about how to setup Zend Studio 8.0 with Zend Server on IBM i for remote debug and profiling.

pjasiulewicz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by pjasiulewicz » Thu May 19, 2011 3:22 pm

Yeah, debugging doesn't work for me either:/

formaserve
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:11 am

Re: Studio 8 debug

Post by formaserve » Thu May 19, 2011 5:08 pm

Well Zend?

Enough people calling for it!

Post Reply